Officers. Current officers of the Society of Dance History Scholars are:

  • Ann Cooper Albright (Oberlin College), president
  • Rebekah J. Kowal (University of Iowa), vice-president
  • Hanna Järvinen (University of the Arts, Helsinki), treasurer
  • Rosemary Candelario (Texas Woman’s University), recording secretary
  • Susanne Ravn (Syddansk Universitet), corresponding secretary

Board of Directors. In addition to the officers of the society, members of the board of directors are:

  • Ninotchka Bennahum (University of California, Santa Barbara)
  • Melissa Blanco Borelli (Royal Holloway University of London)
  • Grisha Coleman (Arizona State University)
  • Meiver De la Cruz (Northwestern University)
  • Colleen Dunagan (California State University—Long Beach)
  • Kathrina Farrugia-Kriel (Faculty of Education, Royal Academy of Dance)
  • Colleen Hooper (Temple University)
  • Hyunjung Kim (Chungnam National University)
  • Rachmi Diyah Larasati (University of Minnesota)
  • Yatin Lin (Taipei National University of the Arts)
  • Raquel Monroe (Columbia College Chicago)
  • Ariel Osterweis (Skidmore College)
  • Clare Parfitt-Brown (University of Chichester)
  • Ken Pierce (Longy School of Music of Bard College)
  • Ramón H. Rivera-Servera (Northwestern University)
  • Chiayi Seetoo (Shanghai Theatre Academy)
  • Constance Valis Hill (Hampshire College)
  • Emily Wilcox (University of Michigan)
  • Arlene Yu (New York Public Library for the Performing Arts)

The Graduate Student Representatives are Colleen Hooper and Meiver De la Cruz.

Board members-elect are

  • Michael Bodel
  • Victoria Fortuna (Oberlin College)
  • Jasmine Elizabeth Johnson (Brandeis University)
  • Alexandra Kolb (Middlesex University, London)

SDHS Editorial Board. The SDHS editorial board governs the publishing program of the society. Sarah Davies Cordova is the Editorial Board Chair; Norma Sue Fisher-Stitt is the Managing Editor of Conversations across the Field of Dance Studies.

  • Sarah Davies Cordova (University of Wisconsin—Milwaukee), Editorial Board Chair
  • Norma Sue Fisher-Stitt (York University), Managing Editor, Conversations across the Field of Dance Studies
  • Susan Cook (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Sherrill Dodds (University of Surrey)
  • Jens Richard Giersdorf (Marymount Manhattan College)
  • Hannah Kostrin (Ohio State University)
  • Sanja Andus L’Hotellier (University of Paris 8 & Columbia University)
  • Ramón H. Rivera-Servera (Northwestern University)
  • Rebecca Rossen (University of Texas — Austin)
  • Linda Tomko (University of California, Riverside)

The president, corresponding secretary, and the treasurer of SDHS are ex officio members of the editorial board.

Committees. Current standing committees of the society are titled: Electronic Communications Committee, Membership Committee, Working Groups and Outreach Committee, Academic Affairs Committee, Conference Committee, and Advocacy Committee. Ad hoc committees are formed to plan programs for annual conferences, to judge submissions for annual awards, and to perform various tasks in the interests of SDHS.

Working Group Chairs. Nona Monahin is chair of the Dance and Music Working Group; Susan Lynn Wiesner is chair of the Dance and Technology Working Group; Tricia Henry Young (Florida State University) is chair of the Dance History Teachers Working Group; Debra Sowell (South Virginia University) is chair of the Dancing the Long Nineteenth Century Working Group; Jane Peck (independent artist-scholar) is chair of the Early Dance Working Group; Lester Tomé (Smith College) is chair of the Latin American, Latino and Caribbean Dance Studies Working Group; Jo Hall (Kingston University) is Chair of the Popular, Social and Vernacular Dance Working Group; Vida Midgelow (University College Northampton) is chair of the Practice-as-Research Working Group; and Elliot Mercer (Northwestern University) and Colleen Hooper (Temple University) co-chair of the Students in SDHS Working Group.

Website. Ken Pierce serves as Website Content Editor.

SDHS publications

Studies in Dance History SDHS’s monograph series, published by University of Wisconsin Press, answers a growing demand for works that provide fresh analytical perspectives on dancing, dancers, and dances in a global context. Read more...

[cover of 2014 Conversations] Issued yearly in early spring generally, Conversations Across the Field of Dance Studies reflects the dynamic and diverse membership of SDHS. We seek to bring you themes and debates current in the field of dance studies and the profession, alongside news from the international community of scholars in dance and related disciplines. Read more...


Conference 2015, Cut & Paste: Dance Advocacy in the Age of Austerity, a joint SDHS and CORD conference, will be held June 4–7, 2015 in Athens, Greece.


SDHS announces this year’s award recipients. Awards will be presented at the SDHS/CORD conference in June.

Dance Chronicle announces Founding Editors’ Awards, honoring Barbara Palfy in 2015. Sponsored by Dance Chronicle and Routledge/Taylor & Francis

Conversations call for contributions: Dancing the African Diaspora. Guest Editors: Takiyah Nur Amin and Thomas F. DeFrantz. Note that the deadline for submissions has been extended. It is now June 30, 2015.

Updated 28 March: Upcoming events

Updated 15 March: Conference announcements and calls for papers

Updated 23 May: Job postings and opportunities for students

SDHS endorses MLA statement on learning another language

Connect to through this link and a percentage of your purchase will help fund graduate student travel to SDHS conferences.